Sub-council 12 honours staff

From left are Sub-council 12 chairman Solomon Philander, Ward 82 councillor Washiela Harris, Wayne Steyn, Asanda Mdladlamba, and acting Sub-council 12 manager Desiree Mentor.

Sub-council 12 handed over awards to staff who service their sub-council.

The hand-over, held at the sub-council office in Lentegeur on Thursday August 26, was one of two sessions held over two sub-council meetings.

“We acknowledge the staff who show that service delivery is a priority despite the pandemic and have given their full attention to service delivery,” said Sub-council 12 chairperson Solomon Philander.

They also acknowledge the street people project of Sherry-lee La Mohr and her team for the work done in Mitchell’s Plain. “Homelessness is a very complex situation as all want to wish the problem away. But it’s often forgotten that street people are human and it needs a holistic approach. We thank the team for making progress,” he said.

Staff are faced with many challenges when they are serving the community. “Together we must report service delivery and protect the staff serving you,” he said.