Health officials awarded for Covid vaccine rollout

Western Cape government health officials, pictured from left, chief director strategy and health support Dr Krish Vallabhjee, deputy director support services for Klipfontein and Mitchell’s Plain Nomtha F. Bell-Mandla, Mitchell’s Plain District Hospital chief executive officer Evan Swart and chief director of people management Bernadette Arries.

Mitchell’s Plain District Hospital received an award for the role it played in the vaccination rollout for the Western Cape department of health and for providing an excellent vaccination service at the Lentegeur hospital main hall to communities and staff.

The hospital was honoured alongside other recipients of public, private organisations, and academia at the Covid-19 rollout recognition awards ceremony on Friday March 4.

Health MEC Dr Nomafrench Mbombo, head of department Dr Keith Cloete, and various senior managers handed certificates to those who had played key roles in the province’s vaccination rollout programme.

Dr Mbombo said whether it was for working in administration, procurement, social mobilisation, safety monitoring, training, clinical or information management, it is appropriate to formally acknowledge officials for helping the province administer close to five million vaccines.

Nominations for the Covid-19 rollout recognition awards were submitted in November, with nominees being identified for the ways in which they excelled in the provincial vaccine rollout efforts.

Some of the categories in which the recipients were honoured at the ceremony included demonstrating innovation, leadership, individual or team excellence, embracing partnerships, and providing access for people to be vaccinated, to name but a few.

Juanita Arendse, Covid-19 vaccine project office lead, said she was proud of all the recipients and the many teams that they represent, as they have worked hard over the past year to ensure a successful vaccination rollout programme to the residents of the province.

“They can be proud of this recognition, which will inspire others. Well done to all recipients who have shown outstanding work achievement, teamwork and a strong commitment to saving lives through the Covid-19 vaccination rollout programme,” she said.