Sub-council gets new chairman

Third from left, is the newly appointed Wolfgat Sub-council chairman Solomon Philander, and councillor for Ward 79. With him, from lef,t are Oscar Solomons, Peter Helfrich, both DA proportional representation (PR) councillors and Danny Christians, councillor for Ward 81.

Newly-elected Wolfgat Sub-council chairperson, Solomon Philander, presided over his first sub-council meeting at the Lentegeur chambers today.

Mr Philander, who is also the ward councillor for Ward 79 (Beacon Valley, parts of Eastridge, the Mitchell’s Plain central business district, including the Town Centre and parts of Portland) was elected last week, following the death of former chairman, Sheval Arendse, who was also the councillor for Ward 82 (Tafelsig), on August 7 (“Councillor dies”, Plainsman, August 21).