Sub-council 12 in progress

Members of Sub-council 12, including proportional representation (PR) and ward councillors for wards 35, 76, 82, 92 and 116.

Sub-councils around the city had their first meetings for the year last week. Sub-council 12, which includes wards 35, 76, 82, 92 and 116 had its meeting at the Lentegeur Chambers on Wednesday February 16.

The sub-council comprises four Democratic Alliance (DA) ward councillors, an African National Congress (ANC) ward councillor, two DA proportional representative (PR) councillors; PR councillors from the GOOD political party, African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP), Cape Coloured Congress (CCC) and Africa Restoration Alliance (ARA).

Ward 116

Sub-council 12’s chairman is Solomon Philander who is also the councillor for Ward 116, which includes Beacon Valley, north of, and excluding Imperial Primary School; Eastridge, southwest of AZ Berman Drive, Mitchell’s Plain central business district; and Eastridge, northeast of AZ Berman Drive.

Ward 92

Norman Adonis is councillor for Ward 92, which includes Beacon Valley, Imperial Primary School; Eastridge, northeast of AZ Berman Drive; Tafelsig, northeast of AZ Berman Drive.

Ward 82

Washiela Harris is councillor for Ward 82, which includes Tafelsig, southwest of AZ Berman Drive.

Ward 76

Avron Plaatjies is councillor for Ward 76 which includes Ikwezi Park; Mandalay; and Lentegeur, northeast of the Central Railway Line.

Ward 35

Mboniswa Chitha is the councillor for Ward 35, which includes Philippi, northwest of the Cape Flats freeway, south and southwest of Govan Mbeki Road and east of, and excluding all property in Kabodi street, Ngcisininde Crescent, Bristol Road, New Eisleben Road, Mbashe Road, Matlabas Crescent and the Phola Park Area.

Proportional representation

PR councillors in the sub-council include, the DA’s Abraham Griesel, who sits on the municipality’s energy and finance portfolio committees; and Dr Arlene Adams.

CCC PR councillor Duwayne Jacobs is on the corporate services and urban waste management portfolio committees; GOOD political party PR councillor Saul Markgraff is member of the urban waste management, water and sanitation portfolio committees; and ARA PR councillor Grant Classen is a member of the energy portfolio committee.