Residents receive civic honour awards

City councillors with civic honours recipients, in front, from left, Mariam Mohamed, Sarah Herlina Fray , Gregory Kannemeyer, Beatrice Roberts and Petronella Appollis

Five Mitchell’s Plain residents were awarded civic honours at a special event held at the Lentegeur Sub-council chambers, on Thursday August 17.

Sub-council 12 chairman Sheval Arendse said that every year, the City of Cape Town bestowed civichonoursonoutstanding individuals, organisations or military units in recognition of extraordinary acts of service or outstandingcontributions to the city and its residents.

The Mitchell’s Plain residents who wereacknowledgedthis year were Gregory Kannemeyer, Beatrice Roberts, Sarah Herlina Fray, Petronella Appollis and Mariam Mohamed.

He said nominees were recognised for upholding the rights of others, serving their community above themselves or contributing to nation- building through outstanding service and achievements.

“Acivic honour may be bestowed upon a living person or in memory of a deceased person. The awards are presented in terms of the City’s civic honours policy, which was adopted by council on December 3, 2008.

“They have received an award and a small token of appreciation for the exceptional contribution they have made within their community,” Mr Arendse said.

Mr Kannemeyer, who was nominated by ward councillor Solomon Philander, is the principal of Beacon Hill High School.

Explaining why he had nominated Mr Kannemeyer, Mr Philander said: “He is nominated for his role in bringing stability to the school and focusing on improving the school’s academic performanceandfacilitiesas well as improving the matric results of the school.”

Ms Roberts, Ms Mohamed and Ms Appollis had also been nominated by Mr Philander.

Ms Roberts is a72-year-old community worker who is passionate about assisting the community and also runs a daycare centre in Eastridge.

“She was nominated for this civic honour for her exemplary community work and devotion to her senior group, ECD and the health committee,” Mr Philander said.

MsRobertssaidshefelt honoured to have received the award. “I don’t do my community work to be seen but because there is a need, and if I am able to assist, then why not? During Women’s Month, I encourage others to assist their community. It is important to uplift and empower residents,” she said.

Ms Mohamedservesher Beacon Valley community as a volunteer at the Beacon Valley Community Centre.

“In her volunteering capacity, she provides sport and recreation to the children of Beacon Valley. Ms Mohamed is a founding member of the Swartklip Netball Union with over 40 years’ experience in bringing netball to the community. She was nominated for this civic honour for her outstanding contribution to the netball sporting code and for the upliftment of the community through sports,” Mr Philander said.

Ms Appollis is the first elected chairperson of the Swartklip Netball Union and has extensive experience in netball on a local, provincial and national level.

“Ms Apollis has shown dedication in sports development by trying to provide fair opportunities to all for the sake of enjoyment and development of the sport. She was nominated for this civic honour for her outstanding contribution to sports development and for the upliftment of the community through sports,” he said.

Ms Fray, who was nominated by Mr Arendse, is the founder of the Alpha and Omega Soup Kitchen, which was established in 2001.

“With the help of others, she feeds the underprivileged and destitute and is passionate about community work,” Mr Arendse said. “Ms Fray is well known within Ward 82 and continues to assist the community on a variety of issues including service delivery complaints and crime in the area which she refers to law enforcement for intervention.”