New ward for the ’Plain

A map of Ward 116.

A total of 14 186 people have been registered to vote in next week’s local government elections in Mitchell’s Plain’s new ward, Ward 116.

The new ward will include parts of Beacon Valley, Montrose Park, Mandalay and Morgenster, which were previously part of wards 78, 99, 88 and 76.

Ward 78, part of Sub-council 12, includes Westridge, Westgate, Portland, Rocklands, Mitchell’s Plain CBD and parts of Beacon Valley. Ward 99, part of Sub-council 10, includes Eastridge (west of Don Carlos, Alpine), while Ward 88 and Ward 76, which are part of Sub-council 23, include areas such as New Woodlands, Lentegeur, Philippi, Philippi Park and Heinz Park.

According to the City of Cape Town’s website the nationwide demarcation of wards is a legislative, which requires that an “independent authority” – namely, the Municipal Demarcation Board (MDB) – must demarcate ward boundaries in all municipalities that are divided into wards.

Ward 116’s voting stations will be at Oval North High, Alpine Primary, The Farm Recreation Centre, Mandalay Primary School, AZ Berman Primary School and Mont Clair Place (Old Age Home) .

According to the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) 2 618 people have registered to vote at Oval North High, 2 366 at Alpine Primary, 2 468 at the Farm Recreation Centre, 3 470 at Mandalay Primary School, 2 426 at AZ Berman Primary School and 838 at Mont Clair Place (old age home).

The local government election takes place on Wednesday August 3. Voting stations will be open from 7am to 7pm, and all voters who are present and in the queue to vote at a voting station at 7pm will be allowed to vote.

To find out if you are registered to vote and where your voting station is, SMS your ID number to 32810.