New JCC elected

Pictured here are City of Cape Town Junior City Council (JCC) committee members Chloe Isaacs and Liame Baadjies, both from Westridge High School; junior chief whip Sibonhiseni Sigodi, from Oval North High School, in Beacon Valley; deputy junior mayor Allesio Marcus, from Beacon Hill High School; and Aqeelah Duncan and Vuvu Baveledi, both from Princeton High School, in Woodlands.

Executive committee members of the Junior City Council (JCC) were elected during a JCC meeting at the council chamber, in Cape Town, on Saturday March 17.

The JCC includes 150 pupils from areas across city, with the executive committee consisting of the junior mayor, junior deputy mayor, junior speaker and junior chief whip. It is a non-political forum which allows pupils to develop a sense of civic responsibility, improve their interpersonal skills and build a positive self-image. The programme aims to broaden the youth’s knowledge of the functions performed by local government. In this regard the JCC will play an ambassadorial role by representing council at various youth forums. They will also assist in heightening awareness about municipal service delivery issues.