New CPF members elected

The newly-elected Lentegeur Community Police Forumexecutive committee.

Lentegeur Community Police Forum’s executive committee was elected last week.

The election of the six office bearers took place at Lentegeur police station on Thursday November 26, overseen by Nontsikelelo Gunguluza and Siviwe Vego from the Department of Community Safety.

Byron de Villiers, who was re-elected as chairperson, said in his second tenure as chair, he would benefit from his experience with the community and its challenges and victories.

“We will do what we need to do the best way we know how. We will play a fruitful role and keep SAPS accountable. Going forward, we should all have a good relationship with communication and a transparent one,” he said.

Mr De Villiers identified finances as one of the CPF’s challenges, noting that previously he and his team would sometimes use their own money to ensure CPF activities went ahead.

The elected officials are chairperson Byron de Villiers, deputy chairperson Kaamillah Ismail, secretary Shakiera Fortune, deputy secretary Johan van Wyk, voted in absentia, treasurer Fatiemah Cloete, projects co-ordinator Grant Adonis, public relations officer Shahiem van Nelson, and additional member Shahiem Bell, voted in absentia.

Acting station commander for Lentegeur SAPS, Colonel Harry Brickles, said he looked forward to working with the new team.

“It is a pleasure working with the safety structures,” he said.

“We need each other and should commit ourselves to work with the community. We appreciate all the hard work. We should support the new team as a community and accept them, and make it a safe place,” he said