Anthem nominated for award

Saalim Ismail wrote and composed We Are Survivors (Singabasindileyo)

Artist Saalim Ismail’s anthem called We Are Survivors (Singabasindileyo) has been nominated for the City Awards Song of the Year award.

The song, which speaks of hope, unity and equality, was written and composed by Saalim during the pandemic.

It is a collaboration featuring artists Vicky Sampson, Jéan Citto, Andréas Tabumuntu, Xola Toto, Zoe Zana, Celest Florence, Julian Hurley, Cheswyn Ray, Miché Beneke, Ameer Hendricks and Micaela Kleinsmith. The video also includes sign language.

“This nomination is an achievement for me and it has left me overwhelmed. I’m sure every independent unsigned entertainment professional would feel the same, as it’s mainly those acts signed to a record label who are usually nominated and win these awards, says Saalim, who lives in Muizenberg and previously in Steenberg.

To watch the video on YouTube search for We Are Survivors (Singabasindileyo) (Feat. Various Artists) – Music Video

To vote for the song, SMS 021 We Are Survivors to 35029. SMSes cost R3 each.